Skip to main content

Item 7: Letter from James Madison to most likely Dolley Madison, (removed to Legal Box #1), 1805 November 21

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 8


  • Created: 1805 November 21



All series and subseries within this collection are open for research, with the exception of a few files within the Academia series that are restricted. The Academia series contains financial and sensitive institutional records from Wilkes College, and financial report records from Princeton University that will remain restricted for 80 years upon creation.


1 items

Language of Materials

From the Collection: English

Type of Material:



9 ¾ in. x 7 ¾ in.




This letter is most likely sent to Dolley Madison by her husband during her stay with famed practitioner Dr. Philip Syng Physick in the summer of 1805. This period of time in the relationship between the two is noted as being a “rare period of separation” where the two exchanged letters, with this letter likely being an example of one of those letters.


I mentioned in my last my dearest that I should put into the mail today the remittance promised you. Having failed to sell the bill on N. York, I was obliged to enter into an arrangement with the Bank that has bottomed on the audit of that Bill. It has enabled me to forward you the enclosed past note which I hope will arrive safe, and remove all primary obstacles to your setting out. Should it be insufficient, you will be able doubtless to get audit till I can make a further remittance which can be done on your return to Washington. The Horses I understand are to be paid for some time hence. I think your brother’s to blame to precipitate a sale of lands. He can not be so pressed as to regain it, I sh[oul]d conspire, and the movement is entirely not favorable to such a transaction. Mrs. Randolph is not arrived. Monday the President knows the precise times that she will. I have nothing to add to my last back regarded expressions of my sincerity to have you safe with me, and with best regards respects to Dr. Physick & love to my sister & much assurances of the hunt affections of yrs. -- J M ----- –

Repository Details

Part of the Wilkes University Archives Repository

84 W South St.
Wilkes-Barre PA 18701 US
570-408-7823 (Fax)